Latest News:

For authors with accepted papers, please refer to the IEEE ISPA 2021 conference website for paying registration fees and submitting camera-ready papers and copyright forms. Thank you!

Journal Special Issues:
1. IEEE Internet of Things Journal (IF: 9.936)
2. ACM Transactions on Sensor Networks (IF: 2.253)

Submission Deadline is extended to 15 July 2021 (Firm)

Submission gateway is now open.

The 13th International Workshop on Cyberspace Security and Artificial Intelligence

To be held in conjunction with IEEE ISPA-2021

1-3 October 2021, New York, USA

With the fast development of 5G/6G, Internet of Things (IoT), Cloud/Edge Computing, and Industry 4.0/5.0, Cyberspace Security is of paramount importance and has become a burning issue that may hinder the deployment of many innovative business models. Artificial Intelligence (AI) has been penetrated into many sectors, e.g., manufacturing, energy and health, to facilitate automation on trust, security, resilience and reliability. In addition, many of the applications in these sectors, such as self-driving cars and remote surgery, are critical and high stakes applications. The opaque decision making, and bias and ethical issues of AI challenge the safety of these applications. Cyberspace Safety has therefore been attracting significant attention in recent years.

This workshop will address the important problems and challenges caused by both AI for Cyberspace Security and Cyberspace Security for AI. The workshop aims to bring together computer scientists and engineers in different disciplines to share and exchange their experience and ideas and discuss state-of-the-art and in-progress research on all aspects of cyberspace security and AI.

This CAI-2021 workshop stems from the International Workshop on Security in e-Science and e-Research (ISSR). This year's event has the core theme of AI-powered Cyberspace Security and Safety, previously held as ISSR-20 (held in Nanjing, China, in conjunction with SpaCCS 2020), ISSR-19 (held in Atlanta, USA, in conjunction with SpaCCS 2019), ISSR-18 (held in Melbourne, Australia, in conjunction with SpaCCS 2018), ISSR-17 (held in Guangzhou, China, in conjunction with SpaCCS 2017), ISSR-16 (held in Zhangjiajie, China, in conjunction with SpaCCS 2016), ISSR-15 (held in Columbus, USA, in conjunction with IEEE ICDCS-15), ISSR-14 (held in Vasteras, Sweden, in conjunction with IEEE COMPSAC-14), ISSR-13 (held in Melbourne, Australia, in conjunction with IEEE TrustCom-13), ISSR-12 (held in Liverpool, UK, in conjunction with IEEE TrustCom-12), ISSR-11 (held in Changsha, China, in conjunction with IEEE TrustCom-11), ISSR-10 (held in Taipei, Taiwan, in conjunction with IEEE ISPA-10) and ISSR-09 (held in Chengdu, China, in conjunction with IEEE ISPA-09).

We solicit original papers reporting a wide spectrum of topics related to cyberspace security and AI. Topics of interest include but are not limited to:

Go to top

Important Dates

Submission Deadline: 15 July 2021 (hard)
Authors Notification: 1 August 2021
Camera-Ready Paper Due: 15 August 2021
Registration Due: 15 August 2021
Go to top

Paper Submission Guideline

Prospective authors are invited to submit manuscripts reporting original unpublished research and recent developments in the topics related to the workshop. The length of the papers should not exceed 6 pages + up to 4 pages for overlength charges (IEEE Computer Society Proceedings Manuscripts style: two columns, single-spaced, 10-point font), including figures and references.

The template files for LATEX or WORD can be downloaded here.

Papers should be submitted through the EasyChair paper submission system.

All papers will be peer reviewed and the comments will be provided to the authors. Once accepted, the paper will be included into the IEEE conference proceedings published by IEEE Computer Society Press (indexed by EI).

Submission of a paper should be regarded as an undertaking that, should the paper be accepted, at least one of the authors will register for the conference and present the work.

Go to top

Journal Special Issues

Distinguished papers selected from the workshop, after further extensions, will be recommended for submission and publication in the Special Issues of following prestigious journals:

IEEE Internet of Things Journal (IF: 9.936)
ACM Transactions on Sensor Networks (IF: 2.253)
Go to top

Organizing Committee

General Co-Chairs
Md Zakirul Alam Bhuiyan, Fordham University, USA
Raymond Choo, The University of Texas at San Antonio, USA
Mianxiong Dong, Muroran Institute of Technology, Japan

Program Co-Chairs
Fei Hu, The University of Alabama, USA
Qin Liu, Hunan University, China
Chaofeng Zhang, Advanced Institute of Industrial Technology, Japan

Steering Committee
Yulei Wu, University of Exeter, UK (Chair)
Guojun Wang, Guangzhou University, China (Chair)
Richard Hill, University of Huddersfield, UK
Wei Jie, University of West London, UK
Ryan Ko, University of Queensland, Australia
Xuejia Lai, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
Victor Leung, Shenzhen University, China / The University of British Columbia, Canada
Yi Pan, Shenzhen Institute of Advanced Technology, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China / Georgia State University, USA
Kouichi Sakurai, Kyushu University, Japan
Yang Xiang, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia
Zheng Yan, Xidian University, China/Aalto University, Finland
Albert Zomaya, The University of Sydney, Australia

Technical Program Committee
Ke Bao, Milligan University, USA
Artem Barger, IBM, USA
Xiaolin Chang, Beijing Jiaotong University, China
Fei Chen, Shenzhen University, China
Ing-Ray Chen, Virginia Tech, USA
Miguel Correia, Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal
Shridhar B Devamane, Tecsec technologies, India
Immanual D.Manhhar, Whitworth University, USA
Ujjwal Guin, Auburn University, USA
Jinguang Han, Queen's University Belfast, United Kingdom
Meng Han, Kennesaw State University, USA
Ju Wook Jang, Sogang University, Korean
Jan Jurjens, Fraunhofer Institute for Software & Systems Engineering ISST and University of Koblenz-Landau, Germany
Shahin Kamali, University of Manitoba, USA
Koushik Kashyap, Cisco Inc., USA
Sokratis Katsikas, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway
Tiffany Hyun-Jin Kim, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Mario Larangeira, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
Gyu Myoung Lee, Liverpool John Moores University, United Kingdom
Helen Leligou, Synelixis Solutions, Greece
Kaitai Liang, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands
Shlomi Linoy, University of New Brunswick, Canada
Liyuan Liu, Kennesaw State University, USA
Gao Liu, Xidian University, China
Jiqiang Liu, Beijing Jiaotong University, China
Chengnian Long, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
Jiang Lu, University of Houston, USA
Yuxiang Ma, Henan University, China
Hassan Mahdikhani, University of New Brunswick, Canada
Sidra Malik, University of New South Wales, Australian
Qian Mao, Whitworth University, USA
Md N.Islam, Missouri University of Science and Technology, USA
Rushabh Patel, Temple University / Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, USA
Gautam Srivastava, Brandon University, Canada
Lin Zhang, Fujian University of Technology, China
Ting Zhang, University of Houston at Downtown, USA

Go to top


For any queries, please contact

© CAI-2021. Created and Maintained by CAI-2021 Web Team.